The Donald G. Hileman Award recognizes a college educator for outstanding service to advertising, to District 7, to a local advertising federation, and to college advertising students through a student advertising team, a student advertising club, and teaching of superior quality.

The $500 and Plaque award may be presented once each year, although no requirement for an annual award exists if a suitable candidate is not available.

eligibility requirements

  • Recipient must teach at a two or four year institution of higher learning located in District 7.
  • Recipient must have demonstrated outstanding service to advertising, District 7, a local advertising federation, and college students through a student advertising team, a student advertising club, and teaching of superior quality, or as many of these as the judges for the award deem appropriate.
  • A person may receive the award only once in his/her role at a particular school. If an educator moves to a different school within District 7, or changes jobs completely within the same school (faculty to dean or marketing faculty to art faculty, for example) and achieves excellence there as well, he/she may be honored again in this new role.

nomination deadline:
March 29, 2024 at 5 p.m.

Please include your name, complete mailing address, email, and nomination form. To be considered, nominations and their accompanying forms must be RECEIVED by Friday, March 29, 2024 at 5 p.m., to Bobbie Green.


1986 Dr. Donald G. Hileman, Univ. of Tennessee, Knoxville

1987 Ron Lane, Univ. of Georgia, Athens

1988 Dr. Elsie Hebert, LSU, Baton Rouge

1989 Dr. Bruce Roche, Univ. of Alabama, Tuscaloosa

1990 Gerald Bower, LSU, Baton Rouge

1991 Dr. Sandra Utt, Memphis St. Univ., Memphis

1992 Lee Wenthe, Univ. of Georgia, Athens

1993 Bettie Hudgens, Spring Hill College, Mobile

1994 Teri Kline Henley, Loyola Univ., New Orleans

1995 Ron Spielberger, University of Memphis, Memphis

1996 Pat Hartman, Spring Hill College, Mobile

1997 Jim Wenthe, Georgia College & State Univ., Milledgeville

1998 Dr. Eric Haley, Univ. of Tennessee, Knoxville

1999 Karen King, Univ. of Georgia, Athens

2000 Norm Grey, Creative Circus, Atlanta

2001 Ron Taylor, Univ. of Tennessee, Knoxville

2003 Dr. Karl Mann, Tennessee Tech Univ., Cookeville

2004 Marilyn Mancini, Univ. of Alabama, Tuscaloosa

2005 Dr. Anne Cunningham Osborne, LSU, Baton Rouge

2006 Melissa Tate, Samford Univ., Birmingham

2007 Dr. Kiersten Stausbaugh-Hutchinson, Univ. of Georgia, Athens

2008 Leslie Haines, The Art Institute of Tennessee, Nashville

2009 Lance Porter, Louisiana State University

2011 Susan Daria, University of Alabama

2012 Art Novak, Savannah College of Art & Design

2013 Dr. Stephen Marshall, East Tennessee State University

2014 Dan Balser, The Creative Circus, Atlanta

2015 Dr. Glenn Griffin, University of Alabama

2016 Dr. Megan Moe, Lee University

2017 Jonathan Hounshell, East Tennessee State University

2018 Jay Waters, University of Alabama

2019 A.J. Buse, Middle Tennessee State University

2020 Mark Barry, University of Alabama

2021 Dr. Daniel Haun, Samford University

2022 Dr. Courtney Childers, University of Tennessee – Knoxville

2023 Michelle Clark Payne, Tulane University

2024 Dr. Yongick Jeong, Louisiana State University