Overview: How the NSAC Works

AAF’s National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) is the premier college advertising competition. NSAC promotes and sponsors three levels of competition: District and two-tiers Nationally. Each year, it provides more than 3,000 college students with real-world experience by requiring a strategic advertising/marketing/media campaign for a corporate sponsor. Schools within our district form teams and compete against one another to determine the District winner. By finishing first, this winning team is then designated to participate in the next level of the National competition against winning teams from all 15 of AAF’s districts. The teams discuss their campaigns with a panel of industry executives in a semifinal round to determine who will compete in person at the annual AAF National ADmerica! Conference. This semi-final round is conducted via on-line video conference and was added beginning with the 2014 competition. The top eight teams from this round go on to compete for the judges at Nationals.

More Information

2020-2021 NSAC CHAIR

Daniel Scruggs
AAF Memphis
Email Daniel

The Structure of the NSAC Competitions

The AAF is divided into 15 districts, each containing one to five states. Each district holds a competition in April and the winning team advances to the national finals which are held during the annual AAF National Conference in June. Each district appoints its own coordinator, a local business professional, to handle all details of the local competition. Judging is conducted by professionals in the communications industry. Judges at the national level are selected from the client and their advertising agencies. Yearly, some districts will have as many as 18 teams competing and nationwide more than 150 colleges and universities take on the NSAC challenge.

There is no better way to learn about the advertising campaign process than by actually developing a campaign for a real client.

The competition is governed by the Education Services division and the AAF Academic Committee, a group of advertising educators and practitioners from across the country, who oversee the policies and procedures of the competitions. These members ensure that there is a level playing field and that the competition demonstrates the highest academic and professional standards.

For more information contact:
Education Services Program at
1101 Vermont Avenue, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 1-800-999-2231 | Fax: (202) 898-0159

Donate to the Charlie Malone NSAC Assistance Fund

The District Executive Committee established the Charlie Malone NSAC Assistance Fund in 2007. The fund was named after former Governor Charlie Malone in honor of his service to the District and his dedication to students. Voluntary contributions are collected during the year and are given to the National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) team that wins the District competition at Spring Convention should they make it to the final round. The funds are used to aid with travel expenses to the NSAC finals held annually at the AAF National ADmerica! Conference.

Checks made payable to: AAF District 7

Mail to:
Jennifer Cooley
AAF District 7
jdotcooley LLC
7430 Willow Bridge Dr N
Mobile, AL 36695

Richard Joel Best Presenter Award Winners

2013 Johnny Sciortino, LSU

2014 Jason Jones, University of Memphis

2015 Alexandra Olivier, Loyola University

2016 Paige Roberts, LSU

2017 Clooeen Conneran

2018 Chance Powell, East Tennessee State University

2019 Katelyn Owen, University of Alabama

2020 Nico Chopivsky, Loyola University New Orleans

2021 Sydney Burns, Loyola University New Orleans

Bolton-Macvicar-Malone National Best Presenter Award Winners

2011 Monica I. Almeida, University of Texas El Paso

2012 Gabriel Carter, Grand Valley State University

2013 Robert Freeman Smith, Michigan St. University

2014 Katherine Vreeland, Johnson and Wales University

2015 Brandon Mai, University of Oregon

2016 Amanda Koontz, West Texas A&M University

2017 Nathalie Nagamine

2018 Joshua Race, Syracuse University

2019 Alexandra Farber, South Dakota State University

2020 Kyle Fiene, University of Oregon

2021 Ana Stanisavljev, University of Virginia